gold disolved in AP

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

russmoss

I need help. Im new to this. My gold disolved in AP. I was told to saturate it with copper to push the gold out. It has a powder on the bottom of the jar . I did a stannous chloride test its clear. What is the next step I need to do ? Thanks

What was the type and quantity of the source material. How did you know that the gold was dissolved in the AP ? What color is the powder on the bottom ? It is quite difficult to get gold to dissolve in AP, did you add too much H2O2 ? How much gold are you expecting ?

Finger boards and pins . All of the gold disappeared while in the AP. I did put too much h2o2 and it was left in the sun . The color of solution is dark brown/ black the powder looks to be brown . Expecting 2g

Yep, as above, I would siphon off the liquid, then wash the powder a couple of times with clean water, then go through the normal sequence of refining with AR.

ive read hooks book . i could not understand very well because im not English speaker .
i took ram fingers and added hcl and then h202 reaction went very fast after about 8-10 minutes .600g ram finger were clear . when i filtered it there was very little gold on paper hard to see with naked eye. i refined it got 0.3 g of bead. after that it happend same with processor pins . tell me what am i doing wrong . i think i add h2o2 too much. reaction goes very fast. what should i do in next batch im gonna use 2kg ram fingers.

H2O2 is an oxidant--it's really only supplying oxygen. If you use a bubbler, you can provide O2 from the air, and you only need a small amount of hydrogen peroxide, enough to kickstart the reaction. The bubbler will provide the rest. Heck, you can even skip the peroxide and the reaction will eventually start with bubbled air.