Help Needed - I'm making a quick reference.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

NuggetHuntingFool

I know that there are 70 or so known metals. However, I'm not sure which those metals are.

Can somebody provide me a list of these 70-some metals?

Are any other non-metals affected by acid, iodine, bromine, cyanide, etc??

This is basically a chart of what dissolves what and what precipitates what.

It will be big, and I need help from you guys. I'm a newb sorry!!

Thanks

Somewhere I have a chart (maybe) I made up of the common metals (about 15 of them) and what dissolves them. I'll try to find it but it may not exist any longer.

The strength of the acid is important with some of the metals. For example, concentrated nitric will not dissolve bulk lead efficiently but hot dilute nitric will (about 7/1, H2O/HNO3, is what I use). Strong nitric doesn't work well because Pb(NO3)2 is not very soluble in it and it forms a crust on the metal. HCl works the opposite way with lead. Concentrated hot HCl dissolves lead but weak hot HCl has little effect on it.

So I would have to include a dilute/concentrated and hot/cold parts as well.

Thanks GSP I appreciate it.

This will be community property so all help is only beneficial to us all.

Thanks!

I would just start with the metals and then list what dissolves them, instead of the other way around. Also. if you list the precipitates, you will have to list them for every matrix that the metal is soluble in. Also, you could have quite a few precipitants for each metal in each matrix. Also, certain precipitants will be used to get a cleaner separation between two or more dissolved metals. For example, if you have Au and Pt in a chloride, you would use ferrous sulfate to get a cleaner precipitation of gold, with the least amount of precipitation of Pt.

Very nice. Thanks.