Help separating gold front iron ore

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mlandri

I'm new to this arena, so appreciate any/all asdistance.

Having a difficult time separating gold from iron rich ore. I get best results using Chapman's flux. However, the gold remains swirled in glass. I don't believe that my melt is adequately liquid. Hence, the metals are not settling out.

Attached pic shows an example of the problem. Was tough getting a good view but pic should be adequate for one to see gold swirled in glass and the general problem. Thanks in advance for your help!

tmp_13495-magnifying_2015-01-06_08-28-25-468301843.jpg

I'm not an expert in ores but I know what the first question will be...

What did the assay tell you?

No, I don't see any gold in the picture. But if you can see the gold in the slag it would be easy to crush and pan the gold out. Use a shaker table if you have larger amounts of slag.

Göran

You may have to thin out your flux. That would allow the gold to settle out more easily. I am by no means versed in the use of flux, but I have seen numerous posts oh what to use to make it thinner. The search function should be your friend here, but it may take a lot of reading.

Göran's comment is key to anything that should be considered. What did the head assay show?

Be advised that gold and iron will readily alloy. Assuming you have ore that yields iron, and it contains gold, there's little reason for the gold to not be alloyed with the iron.

If you suspect you have gold in the flux, an assay will resolve the issue. What you see may or may not be gold.

Harold

Just a guess, but it looks like you're not using enough flux and not letting it cook long enough. If I remember correctly, 30g of ore or concentrates to 90g flux, then pour into a conical mold.

All,