help to precipitate gold

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

skandal

hello ..
sorry for my english ....
this is my first attempt at recovery of gold.
I followed a tutorial on youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AqBsvn575jI
Everything went well until
I used 1 tablespoon of urea to precipitate gold from AR (about 500 cl)
but nothing happened except that change color to green
what should I do?

thanks

sorry ...... if you do miss the time!
but I have known your forum recently

Don't worry about it, I am always glad to prevent someone blowing his reaction vessel, being covered with concentrated acids.

Re: urea not reaction
I have a nice batch of AR but am getting no reaction from the Urea. Ideas?

No wonder, that there is no visible reaction. Urea and nitric acid together form a highly water soluble salt, urea nitrate, which in fact is a very dangerous compond. More information about it you can get in "Wikipedia": http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Urea_nitrate or by a google-search using "urea nitrate" as a term to search for. After having read enough stupidities about urea, which may endanger severely anybody believing them and working according to them, here my earnest warning: Do never use urea to "neutralize" nitric acid, - it won't do the job, - and never use urea together with concentrated nitric acid or nitrates in a concentrated acid medium.

freechemist

however, I have dealt with reactions to open countryside
(sorry for the mistakes I'm using google translator for both writing and reading)
protected by mask, goggles and gloves.
I did not think it was so hard .... the video seems easy ...