Home Furnace found on eBay

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

beachbum1975

Hello all,

I am a noob, but over time I have accrued a fair amount of gold fingers from escrap.

After months of reading this forum, I am getting ready to take the plunge (buy Steve's DVD) and try processing my first batch of gold...

While tinkering around on ebay, I found the following auction:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Melting-Furnace...483772f0f5&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14#ht_5763wt_939

DSC03635.JPG

DSC01931.JPG

Has anyone ever used this? If so, what are your thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

beachbum1975

I haven't seen those before but they sure are sweet little suckers! Kinda pricey though....

Mike B

Noxx, you think the seller built that? seems like that may be, but looks like they really did a good job.

I would like to build one, but not sure were to get that graphite crucible.

Jim

I don't know where to get graphite crucibles, but they're very easy to machine from blocks of the stuff... as long as you don't mind the mess.

That very device is one thing I could do with my induction heater, but why stop at that? The power supply is much more versatile. The price seems reasonable, depending on how it's constructed (if it's just resistance heated, that's not too interesting, eh?).

Tim

Tim can you add a link to your induction heater, that is sum project, I still have not started trying to build one as this gold bug seems to have absorbed alot of my time, I did buy some nice capacitors for one though. also your sodium chlorate for our platinum group metals, several times I have seen your expieriments, and even the guy's on the forum have referenced to some of your expieriments, I am not very computer savy, so it blows me away all your stuff you put on the computer, I would like to see you melting your refined gold in that copper coil induction cooker of yours.