How to Process ?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wonderscrap1

Please see the attached Photo,

I have got this material from shipyard (10kg),

Lab report showing:

44.50 % Silver
3.36 % Gold
17.56 % Copper and
33.46 % Cadmium

Please help how to process this material

P Vaghela

Attachments

• 123.JPG
    123.JPG
    6.1 MB · Views: 255
The biggest problem is going to be the cadmium it's not the nicest material to deal with and is extremely toxic. This might well be beyond the hobbyist refiner to work with safely, I could be wrong as I'm not an expert with ores so wait till one of our mining experts comments.

Beware of the cadmium! Do NOT try to melt it!

Everything but the gold should go into solution in nitric acid. You can cement the silver out of solution with copper. Then be sure the waste is handled appropriately. The gold will be left as an undissolved, fine mud. Use the solvent and reducing agent of your choice.

Dave

wonderscrap1 said:

Lab report showing:

44.50 % Silver
3.36 % Gold
17.56 % Copper and
33.46 % Cadmium

P Vaghela

That can't be correct, I can see rocks with some sulfides in them. There should be a lot of Si, O, Fe, Al, Ca, Mg, .... and so on that makes up the non-metallic part of the rocks, the sulfides should contain S too. Your numbers add up to 98.88% and that would be a large piece of metal.

If you want to treat rocks with precious metals in them chemically then you would need to know what the chemistry of the whole rock is.

My best advice is to pulverize it and pan it to get a concentrate.

Göran

Cadmium = danger!

You will some expert advise and maybe even send it to someone with the proper setup to process this.

g_axelsson said:
wonderscrap1 said:

Lab report showing:

44.50 % Silver
3.36 % Gold
17.56 % Copper and
33.46 % Cadmium

P Vaghela