I am doing something wrong but I dont know what

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Trustworthysole3

I am new to the catalytic converter stuff so I got a DVD from Steve and I have followed all instructions to the letter except I am using sodium nitrate instead of Nitric acid. After I filter my stuff there is no PMs showing up with a stannious test. I do find some in the stuff I filtered out. I just have a problem with the PMs dropping out of solution. What could I be doing wrong?

Are you using zinc to precipitate the mixed PGMs or are you trying to recover the Pt and Pd directly from the poor man's AR solution?

You may need to denoxx the solution if using the latter method.

If you can please explain the steps you followed in detail.

Steve

Hi Steve I am just trying to get the PMs out of the beads and the PMs keep falling out of solution. Just the beginning stuff before I even filter it for the first time or anything just boiling the beads. By the way Steve I have about 3lbs of ICs with the legs on them and I dont want them do you? Sorry just read again your answer.

step 1 I put 23grams or sodium Nitrate into water and heated till the sodium Nitrate was dissolved into solution.

step 2 I put 1pound of beads into a coffee pot

step 3 I poured the dissolved sodium nitrate in with the beads

step 4 I put 50ml of HCL in the pot of beads

step 5 I put enough water to cover the beads by at least 3/4inch

step 6 I put the pot of beads on the hot plate and proceeded to boil them for 3 hours

step 7 I let the pot cool just enough to handle and I poured the contents of the pot thru a sieve and then through a filter then through the Charmin plug.

step 8 I do the stannious test on the finished product only to get no reaction

step 9 I test some of the sludge filtered out with stannious and I get a positive reaction