I bought a 600 g Goldfilled bar

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aadams1026

Hello fellow gold lovers,
I'm kinda new to the whole gold refining. I recently bought a 600 g Goldfilled bar for real cheep . Now my question is if I cornflake the Goldfilled bar and dissolve it in nitric acid and then dissolve the gold in Hydrochloric acid and bleach then precipitate it back now with SMB. Will that processes work and if not or if I'm close can you please let me know. I don't want to mess up what gold is in the the bar by doing the wrong process. Thank you in Advance. Anthony

The first question is not how to recover the gold, but is there any gold to recover? Tell us the story of the bar and how it became such a good deal. Not trying to discourage you just pointing out the reality of you want to refine something, but yet you may not know if their is any gold there.

Hi Anthony!
Like Palladium stated above, please share with us a bit more information. You mentioned gold filled, so what karat?
Did you buy this "G.F." 600g bar from e-bay by any chance? Could this bar actually be gold plated?

That's going to be a lot of nitric in order to dissolve the base metals in you "corn flake" the bar...

A picture could also help.

Thanks!

Phil

That gold is going to be really fine in size, purple, and hard to filter. Coffee filters probably won't work. Nitric first step to recover the gold and then on to refining.

Palladium said:
That gold is going to be really fine in size, purple, and hard to filter. Coffee filters probably won't work. Nitric first step to recover the gold and then on to refining.