I need help.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Eaheisler

Good day everyone,

I would first like to give you a little bit of background information about myself. I'm an active duty soldier with 5 combat tours. I have PTSD so bad that I am afraid to go outside because everything I see, smell, feel or, sense puts me into a panic attack. So in trying to find a hobby I decided to try my hand at gold salvaging. Over the past 2 weeks I've spent over $2,000 in scrap of all kinds, and the kits found on this home page. I know I've made some bad buys but, I have also made some good ones as well. Since I have over 12 lbs of watch bands (1,200) invested in those that is where I would focus my energy on & sell the rest on eBay.

I have the DVD tutorials on the way along with all the mats (except for the chemicals I'm going to need) I was wondering if someone would be kind enough to give me a step by step breakdown of what to do, how to do it, chemicals I'm going to need &, materials I may be missing. I hate to sound slow but, I'm looking for Barney style so there is no way for me to screw this up.

Thanks in advance
Big Sgt.

Big Sgt.,

I want to thank you for your military service. I hope you can, at some point, put your demons behind you.

I don't have any links to step by step procedures, though I have seen such lists on the forum. The problem with such lists is that to be a list, it can't provide enough detail. To provide enough detail it becomes a book instead of a list.

I can provide some links that will get you started in the right direction. First, be safe in everything you do. Before you start any chemical processes, be sure you understand the potential hazards and do everything you can to minimize the risks. Read EVERYTHING in the Safety section of the forum, especially the Dealing with Waste topic.