issue with gold drop

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mr_Snow

Hi there,

I'm a Pure Science undergrad from London. I've been interested in gold extraction for a while, and have been reading up on it since September (between studies).

I spent as much as I could on it, but after a while found a great deal of inconsistencies with different people's methods/explination due to a lack of practical knowledge on my part, and so I thought I'd try and get some hands on experience to help contextualise what I'm reading on this forum.

So for my first experiment I took 512g of gold fingers dissolved that in [100ml nitric acid / 300ml HCL ]
I got a positive test with Stannous solution
I then neutralised with sodium carbonate and added some food grade sodium metabisulfite dissolved in water to precipitate 4.42g of a murky grey brown powder.
[for context the SMB was purchased from a chemical supplier]

I then tested this with Stannous to confirm a gold content, and it was positive.

I then dissolved in Aqua Regia [ 25ml nitric / 75ml HCL ] and filtered out the flakes of plastic

I now had a dark tan solution testing positive with Stannous, and neutralised this slowly with urea until it stopped bubbling.
I filtered to remove the dead urea left floating and on the bottom and was left with a transparent yellow solution.

This is where i'm slightly lost, I decanted 10ml into a seperate beaker and added some Sodium MetaBisulfate dissolved in water, and there was no reaction.
[This SMB was purchased in the form of Campden tablets from Wilkinsons]

I added some sodium bicarbonate and it fizzed up white foam with what appeared to be patches of dark purple/red in parts of the foam.
The clear liquid now had several small flakes of an almost black substance floating in it but nothing else.