l leaped before I looked. Help.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

theblueletters

I've been a jeweler for quite some time now though I have a BA in Chem with a concentration in organic chemistry. That being said I should have been smarter that this .... between my wife and I (she's a print maker; woodcut, silk screen, intaglio etc) we have a fair collection of acids and bases and I got over excited and I disolved between an once and and half ounce of what was mostly sterling and a little fine silver in around 600 mL of HNO3.

I was looking for a quick solution b/c I just started a new job and have been low on time and money.

Well my problem was that I thought, after a quick filtering to clean my solution, I'd be able to use a graphite rod as an anode and collect along a fine silver cathode. NOW at this point I've used every conductor I can think of an they're all just making my solution dirty. The one exception is more silver but I'm not really sure I'm getting out more then I'm putting in.

Apparently the ability of nitric acid to dissolve EVERYTHING slipped my mind. I can follow the AgNO3 to AgCl to AgO procedure I found here but id really rather some advice on an around the house anode that doesn't involve gold or platinum which seem to be the only elements standing up to HNO3. If I can just get a solid anode I can finish what I started and take my time next time.

If anyone can help me out of a jam this once I'd be greatly appreciative. Hope to hear from someone soon.
Thanks,
Andrew

theblueletters

Fisrt thing, you might want to do is a search about "silver cell".
All of the; What? How? and Why? have been answered before.