Let's start at the beginning

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

aferland66

Supporting Member
Hello all, this is my first try at E Waste and I guess step one is Depopulating and sorting.

I'm doing this as a hobby so will be taking more time than most pros on this. I'm not looking for only Gold either, so I'm not looking at selling the boards. I hope you will bear with me with my questions.:)

This is my current process, please let me know of anything I'm doing wrong or not doing. I'm working mostly with computer scrap. I'm taking everything apart as much as I can.

1- Removing gold fingers
2- removing all cables and sorting flat ones
3- Getting as much clean Aluminum as possible from HDDs and Heat sinks
4- Removing all Copper, even the little Copper coils and removing Ferrous Oxide cores.
5- Removing all Capacitors, Resistors, Blue ceramics, and any brass fittings.
6- Depopulating the rest of the boards with heat in an old pan (no smoke is generated)
7- Sorting flat packs and chips
8- Sorting all gold plated pins
9- Removing all white metal not gold plated
10- gathering up all small chips and other board parts that are tiny.
1703988415388.jpeg

1703988444200.jpeg

Hello all, this is my first try at E Waste and I guess step one is Depopulating and sorting.

I'm doing this as a hobby so will be taking more time than most pros on this. I'm not looking for only Gold either, so I'm not looking at selling the boards. I hope you will bear with me with my questions.:)

This is my current process, please let me know of anything I'm doing wrong or not doing. I'm working mostly with computer scrap. I'm taking everything apart as much as I can.

1- Removing gold fingers
2- removing all cables and sorting flat ones
3- Getting as much clean Aluminum as possible from HDDs and Heat sinks