Lime Green Auric Chloride?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jhize

OK. Newbie here. I followed the AP process (thanks lasersteve), when it came time to dissolve the gold, I got a lime green solution. I'm gessing this is due to the presence of copper and that I did not wash thouroughly. If that is the case, what can I do at this point? Is there a way to get rid of the green?

I've had the same problem when I rushed the process and not properly cleaned the foils before dissolving them. I have noticed a big difference when dropping the gold. The properly cleaned foils drop in minutes and yield nice clumpy, light colored powder that settles easily. The dirty foils dropped slowly and yielded dark powder that didn't hold together and was more difficult to work with. I was not impressed with the quality of the powder from the dirty foils, even after the full washing routine.

My suggestion, drop the gold. Redissolve in Acid-Clorox, drop again, and wash it thoroghly. Next time, get the foils as clean as possible before dissolving. A little extra work on the front end goes a long way.

If you want clean gold it is recommened that you process it 2 times. The first time you will almost always drag down some other metals if you start with a lot of garbage. Even with washing it can still not always get it all clean. According to what you are trying to acheive perfection or just seperation .

Thanks all,

Right now I'm just looking for seperation. How would you go about seperating this solution?

And second related question: Sodium Metabisulfate is NOT the same as Sodium Polybisulfate correct? Seems like an obvious answer is coming my way....I saw that the names are interchangeable.

Where can I find smb(sodium metabisulfite) (not sulfate) ?
http://www.chemistrystore.com/sodium_metabisulfite.htm