Looking to melt copper

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

danny987

Hi, I'm looking for something capable of melting copper to make bullion. (1+ lbs. at a time) Something low cost, but effective.

What would my options be for less then $400?

I tried blowing a mapp torch directly onto the copper, but 20 minutes later it still was only red.

I tried to build my own furnace, but that was just a pain.

When I was a welder, we welded Copper using Mig and Tig. First we would preheat the copper to cherry red using 2 rose buds then tig weld spots to hold the parts together. Afterwards we kept the cherry color as we Mig welded the balance of the weldment to finish. Copper displaces heat so fast that to melt it with convectioal methods is not cost effective. Try a Kiln to the melting temp of copper. It may work...not sure though. Personallly I would not even try not worth the effort. But thats just me :)

Ray

This is easy to do if you follow good melting practice and are after pretty looking bars.

For high quality copper, you must melt under inert atmosphere and cast under inert atmosphere into a graphite mold.

Totally do-able though.