Maybe it wasn't Nitric Acid

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rczmiller

I am not a seasoned expert on using nitric acid for gold recovery, but I have successfully recovered gold from Gold-filled jewlery a few times before. Unfortunately when I went to smelt the gold using my kiln I included some material that was not processed yet - did I mention that I am not a seasoned expert. Since I planned to have to reprocess the material again, I threw in some more gold-filled jewlery and melted it all together.

Well to recover from my mistake, I ordered some 70% nitric acid in a properly labeled bottle from a vendor on eBay. This time my results were different. First while I was using the nitric acid to remove the non-gold, a clear/blue crystal formed at the bottom 1/2 inch of the glass jar incasing the material. I had never seen that before and when I contacted the vendor they informed me that there were too many variable to explain what was happening. I found that when I poured off the acid and filled the glass jar with water the crystal was disolved. However, when the crystal was gone i also noticed that there was no gold visable in the jar just black fine sand (waste?) at the bottom.

I read that Aqua Regia would disolve gold so I contacted the vendor again to ask if that what was sent, but he again informed me that it was nitric acid and then tried to sell me a book on how to refine gold. I didn't have alot of gold but I know there was about a 1/2 ounce before I processed it with this new acid.