Mixed metal gold bar recovery issues.. HCL+H2O2

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Owen_Lindsay

Hi to everyone,

thank you for a very informative forum. i have a great deal to learn for you all.

Please excuse my current lack in expertise, i am just starting out and getting my head around things. i have always been a practical learner rather that an academic so basic steps and advice in times of woe are more or less my bread and butter.

If not too much trouble can someone link me in to the appropriate thread if it has already been covered in entirety. ( im sure it has )

My Process Thus Far..

I was drawn to some mixed metal supposed melted CPU pin ingots.(i'm sure this was my first Rookie error in a series to come)

I had a total of 3kg of this unknown mixed metal ,

I added them to a 25L empty plastic container to which i added approx 10L of 36% HCL followed by a grand total of 10L H202 10%, the H2O2 was added slowly over the course of a few week to keep the solution deep emerald green.

If the solution turned black/deep brown with no trace of green I added more H2O2 up to the 10L mentioned (Knowing i had used far too much anyway)

1 week ago i added a Fishbubbler with a mineral diffuser which is bubbling away nicely and metal is still clanking in the bottom when i agitate the container.

i can see no gold floating in the solution but it has returned to a cloudy black colour which upon filtering a small test portion is deep brown leaving a dark grey/black sediment in the filter.

( i am awaiting some stannous chloride to be delivered presently)

I added this black precipitate to fresh HCL and way too much bleach (whoops)
the precipitate appeared not to dissolve but i still then proceeded to filter.

i am using milton (2% sodium hypochlorite)

the filtrate was a yellow brown colour..