Mixed Pins With Acid Peroxide

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tzoax

I just wanted to share my experience with processing computer/laptop/telecom pins with A/P method as this is my first time doing it. this is 400 grams of mixed pins. They are all barely magnetic - copper / brass / bronze based pins. As the matter of fact i haven't found ever kovar based pins in computers (not including CPU pins). There are also jumper pins. AUGAT pins are not included.
1 23.05.2016..jpg
This is my setup - aquarium air pump (Tetra APS 150) with aquarium air curtain, 5l basket, HCl concentration 16 percents and 3 percent H2O2.
4 day 1.jpg
I added total of 300ml of H2O2 (not at once), i started with small amount with HCl and H2O2 and when Copper II chloride formed i added more HCl (which diluted solution color) then i added more H2O2, and so on.
The Copper II chloride slowly started to paint the solution in green color. This is the progress by days.
5 day 1.jpg
7 day 2.jpg
12 day 4.jpg

15 day 7.jpg
I filtered the foils several times so far (just for curiosity)...
21  day 9.jpg
24  day 10.jpg
And i started to accumulate the foils in a beaker.
27  day 10.jpg
Pisture of what was left in a filtered basket after 10 days.
26  day 10.jpg

I decided to refine the gold foils that i have so far...
49 day 13.jpg
50 day 13.jpg
51 day 13.jpg
52 day 14.jpg
After washing a gold powder...
53 day 0.3g 15.jpg
It is 0.3g of gold so far. Now it is day 16 and there are a lot more visible foils floating in a solution. I like this process, i haven't got any problems so far (considering there are all types of mixed pins (not including kovar based)). I hope you like the pictures.

I really love your posts, always very interesting to see what you are doing !