More info requested on AP process

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Sharding757

First of all hello everyone! As most can tell I'm new to the forum. Been doing alot of research before joining and found you guys. With the understanding that dealing with Pm recovery can be a rather tedious and a dangerous process if not done in a safe manner, I have been doing my share of reading (even though I first downloaded the hokes book and was missing many pages (the one that shows two pages per frame) but finally found one that wasnt. Took my thinker off for a tick until i realized some pages were missing. Any how, I read in hokes book and it was quoted several times to not worry about the Silver but only if worth while. I'm studying/planning on using the AP method as seen on LazerSteve's website. Hoke's Book focuses mainly on the aqua regia method. Is there more information on the AP method? Perhaps a book, something readable to gain more knowledge in this particular venue of recovery? I want to recover all I can from Computer boards and such. I have been reading the forums as well. Im mainly concerned with the gold and silver recovery for the time being as I grow in knowledge, I'm sure I'll move on and expand the process. I see talk about recovering silver and much talk about there's not enough to even bother in some cases, not to mention its insoluble if using the aqua regia method. So if using the AP method, and correct me if im wrong, The base metals including silver but not gold (unless too much h202 is added) are put "into solution". If I were to first filter out my gold from fingers and gold board etchings (board components removed for incineration later using Patnor's Guide), can I further refine the AP solution containing the other base metals? For instance precipitating Silver by chance. Many articles avoid even the mention of silver extraction