Need help identifying this type of scrap

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

icejj

Hello all. I am looking for help identifying the type of scrap pictured. The scrap came from an unknown source. They appear to be gold plated pins from electronic devices, but I'm not experienced enough to say that for sure just be looking at them. The last 3 pics depict each pin with a drop of 14k test acid at the top of each "pin" and a drop of 10k test acid below each 14k test acid droplet. After wiping off the droplets, it seemed as if each "pin" passed both tests, although the droplets on the two long "pins" on the right side of the pic appeared barely slightly discolored. I processed each "pin" in dilute nitric and the gold came off in foils, pretty much retaining the original shape of the "pins". I would like to know if anyone knows this type of material, so that I could possibly calculate potential yield. Furthermore, since the foils came off in the shape of the original "pins", and since the "pins" appeared to pass the acid tests, is it possible that the foils are thick enough to be considered gold filled vs gold plated??? Any thoughts on potential yield of these types of "pins" per pound?

20230718_001829.jpg20230718_005308.jpg20230718_005354.jpg20230718_005333.jpg20230718_010313.jpg20230718_010454.jpg20230718_010459.jpg

I would expect about 2 to 3 grams per kilo yield.

Depends somewhat on when they were made - they have been making those type pins for MANY years

I have processed those type pins that were made in the 80s & 90s that yielded 6 - 7 grams per kilo

But yes - new pin of this type run "about" 3 grams per kilo

Edit to add; - generally speaking newer pins use less plating where as older pins used heavier plating

Kurt

Furthermore, since the foils came off in the shape of the original "pins"