Need help removing borax from Button...

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

AuCelticJRW

Hello,
First I want to say that I am fairly new at making gold buttons from gold fingers. I use Steve's method and have made my second button very recently. I melted my brown gold dust produced and ended-up with a very beautiful button-nugget about 1/4 ounce in weight.. I say nugget because it was poured from the graphite dish into the water a bit soon and it looks a lot like a native gold nugget. The problem I have is that a bit of borax ended-up sticking on the nugget. I removed a lot fairly easily just by using my finger nails, but there is stil some left. What is the best method to clean-up my nugget? I thought of soaking it in muriatic acid, but not sure enough to try this. I know there is probably an easy fix...I hope! Any help is appreciated.

If you have any sulphuric acid mix a 10 to 1 and boil the button in it the borax should come off. 10 parts water to 1 part sulphuric. thats what i used.
Ken

Hi Jeneje,
What strength of sulfuric acid should be use? Will this method remove the gold or damage in any way? Sorry if I ask, but just learning so I appreciate your help!

Thank You,
John

AuCelticJRW said:
Hi Jeneje,
What strength of sulfuric acid should be use? Will this method remove the gold or damage in any way? Sorry if I ask, but just learning so I appreciate your help!

Thank You,
John
I use 98 pure, but as Geo said battery acid work great to. Warning; do not add the water to the acid - add the acid to the water.
Ken

edited; AuCelticJRW, sorry i did not answer your post completely, No it will not harm your gold it will clean it as far as i know.

Hi all,

When cleaning borax off of 2 Gold Button with Car Battery Sulfuric Acid. Can I do it without adding any heat? If I need to add heat how hot should it be and how long with heat?

Thanks
Jack