Need Help with Gold Recovery from Gold Plating Process

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

CarolineSun

Hi,

I am very new with gold plating and I really need some help. Thank you in advance!

Our client does gold plating and they think they are losing gold into the exhaust air. Could you think of any reason that would happen? Anybody had similar problem before? I couldn't find any article say they recover gold from air exhaust.

I know gold is ionized in the plating bath, but when a solution vaporizes, the solute mostly left behind except for those volatile compounds. So I would think gold is not likely to present in the exhaust air. So, how would gold migrate from plating bath to air stream?

I look forward to hearing from you!
Thank you!

Personally I doubt the gold plating solution is releasing much if any gold into the exhaust unless they are boiling the solution. Loses from plating solutions may be in the rinse tank or the polishing shop if they finish the goods after plating, the wires used to hold the goods will also be a likely place to look or the racks used to hold the items,also possible is that the amount been plated hasn't been calculated properly. The pipes from the exhaust system should be easy to test, wipe one out and treat it, be careful and find out if it's a cyanide or acid plating solution before messing with it.
Good luck with this and keep us up to date on your progress on solving this problem.

May I ask what function you perform for them?

With any gassing at the anode or cathode, bubbles coated with plating solution can escape into the air, but I would doubt that this is the problem unless the gassing is severe. Why do they think the gold is being lost into the air? Analysis? How is the gold analysis being performed?