New To Refining

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

waltsplaza

Hello, I am new to this aspect of recycling PCB boards and the components. I purchased a storage unit that was loaded with these boards and most of them have the gold/copper content very heavily inlaid to the boards. I have read so much about this form of refining and there seems to be a large amount of pros and cons surrounding extracting gold at home. I have read about the aqua regia system working pretty well for a home based method and being relatively safe enough for the enviroment and you can nutralize the chemicals when done. I would really like more information from someone with enough time in to tell me the real story. I worked on some of these boards to remove the components to kind of see how long a process this involves as I have hundreds of them to process. Removing the components doesn't seem that hard to do and it's just a matter of method. Now that I have gotten to the point of trying to remove the resin that coats the board, I hit a little bit of a block as there are so many variations on how to do this, so I would like to know what is the best way to clean them so they work better for the Aqua Regia system. I am trying to take my time with this and get my ducks in a row before I place these boards in any solution for gold refining. I do not wish to use a refiner as you lose far too much money and I don't mind the labor of doing the process myself. Is there someone who can give me a layout of what's really needed to do this properly. I have always dealt with scrap metal in my business and we recycle all we can and I would like to really get in to this since I have the resources available. I really need a little information and appreciate some advice.

Barren Realms 007 said:
To get the coating off do a search on soaking them in hot sodium hydroxide.