New with a few safety questions

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kreinhardt

Absolute beginner here. My background is as a hobbyist jeweler so I have been extremely slow and careful in my education on process and safety for refining. I've been following the forum for a few years, have read Hoke at least 3 times and have watched Sreetips videos as well as read his process posts (kadriver) here. I have gotten to the point where I feel that I understand the process for recovering and refining karat gold as well as one can without ever having done it. However, I am reluctant to begin my first attempt for the following reasons.

1) I plan on doing all of my work outside which is always recommended if one doesn't have a fume hood. I plan on processing a few oz./month of karat gold and occasionally gold filled material and maybe running a small silver cell. Would it be a good idea to build a fume hood for my outdoor work anyway?

2) Even though I'm not doing much in terms of reactions, I'm not too keen on putting nasty fumes into the air around my house for a number of reasons. Would it be a good idea to build a small simple scrubber in addition to a hood? Is it possible to use a scrubber without a hood or will too much of the fumes produced escape without a proper enclosure?

Yes, and yes.

On the scrubber question, you can capture and scrub most of the fumes with a "closed system" scrubber. Note, that doesn't mean a sealed system that builds up pressure, but a "reactor" like an erlenmeyer or boiling flask attached to a series of scrubber bottles that will scrub most of the fumes before the hood evacuates the much smaller amount that escapes.

Dave