Newb In Pennsylvania

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
A

Anonymous

Hello All,
So obviously I am a noob but I figured I would tell you all a little bit more about me.
I graduated from Penn State about 5 years ago, as a pre-med major and a metalsmith. I am 29 and currently halfway through medical school, but have decided to take some time off before finishing. During my time off, I built a forge and starting doing some knife work and some other blacksmithing. I then decided that since Christmas was coming and I was broke (still am) that I would build myself a cheap burnout kiln and do some silver lost wax casting for gifts. I built my burnout kiln for about 3 dollars and then used my forge to melt some fine silver. The first try was an utter failure, but my second try was quite a success. It was my first time casting (psu's metals dept didn't have casting equipment and the program no longer exists), and my first time setting stones. Doing all of that reminded me how much I love working with metal. Hence, my interest in this forum. Because I want to continue to do metal work while finishing med school, I have to do it on a budget (I'm already in debt up to my eyeballs). And I'm hoping that maybe I can even make some money on the side to possibly finish the engagement ring that I designed and ran out of money to finish. So I am interested in building either my own thum cell or mobius cell. Even when I was in school, I built many of my own tools for metal work, it is just something I like to do. So building my own equipment to refine silver and maybe even some gold or platinum down the line is right up my alley. I actually have some high grade silver nitrate to get me started to use in the electrolyte.
I have a lot of hobbies that generally revolve around pretty much anything DIY.