noob here. help please!

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bgp_scrap

Hi guys, new to the forums but read them alot.
First off, this isn't my first batch.
Ive done 4 other perfect runs, but this time im stumped. Followed every step right. From hno3 until no reaction, filtered washed, aqua regia, let it rest, strained diluted by half with distilled water, adeed urea until it stopped fizzing, then added smb.
Smb sulfite, not sulfate :)
Didnt work.. I mixed with smb with hot water first and stirred in ar slowly.
Read here that aluminum will drop all the metals. So.. No impurities, hey why not!
Well it worked!
Byt.. I have black powder, not tgat awesome light chocolate money pile.
Any ideas as where to go next? Maybe try refining it again? What could have done it?
T.I.A

bgp_scrap said:
Read here that aluminum will drop all the metals. So.. No impurities, hey why not!
No impurities?
If aluminum will drop all metals, there is (and always will be) impurities in the end result, if for no other reason, they are contained in the aluminum (which is rarely pure).

Byt.. I have black powder, not tgat awesome light chocolate money pile.
Any ideas as where to go next? Maybe try refining it again?
Yes, refine it again, this time without using aluminum.
Before you do, give the material a prolonged wash in heated HCl. That will help eliminate the aluminum that is present, which has the potential to complicate filtration.

What could have done it?
See my first entry in this post.

Harold

Thanks harold!
I thought to re-process but as I played with a little the insides gold coloured but black outside. Figured id get a second opinion :)
So redo the whole process after a not so quick hot bath in hcl? Thanks a bunch!
Gunna put in the back of my mind not to use aluminum again.