Noobz experience, between funny and deadly :-) [long]

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Padre

ello there folks,

this is a total noobz from south Italy here with his
lousy indeed experience. :-(
Today i woke up and said, "hey lets go, and after reading
trough almost all topics here and there, lets do some refining.
I had a 210 grams - 7 ounces- of plated pins stripped off from
the very usual parts such as connectors from hard drives, dvd
and cd rom reader and some pins fetched on other kinda connectors.

I was happy, tough i knew already the yeld was not going to be
something to change my life but hey, you never know, tough i expected
at least a 1:100 ratio yeld, meaning that 200 grams or so of
plated pins would give me at least 2 grams of wonder dust :)

My equipment - and here i know everyone will start booein' or sayin' any sort of
joke, but trust me, i had much difficulties buying reagents and other stuff like pyrex
flasks and so on that i had to go trough a one month pay and wait e-bay thing.

- 1 glass container approx 600 ml

- HCl, 36% bought from they bay

- Nitric Acid, 60% bought from the same as above.

- a 100 ml graduated flask for measuring.

- No respirator

- everything performed outside

- AR 400 ml

I mixed 1 part - 100 ml - of Nitric and 3 parts of HCl and......gosh, i never smelled smthing so nasty in my life. Plus i had the sillyness to take a little sniff before mixing and if the Nitric was kinda bearable, the HCl "snort" was almost deadly: cough, red eyes, i had to ran out of my little cellar and stay out to breathe for almost 5 mins, and when coming on, i could still smell a bit of this flippin caustic thing.

1 thing learned, start mixing the reagents *OUTSIDE* if you dont have a fume hood and a respirator.