Pins With Nitric Acid

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Tzoax

Considering this is my first post on this wonderful website, I would like to express my admiring and support to everyone here who is giving their part in making this knowledge base bigger and better. I am from Belgrade, Serbia and i started this hobby several years ago. So far, I've collected only gold foils from fingers using nitric method, this is my first time I tried with pins. So, here is what i did and what my problem is...

First I've collected 100 grams of all kind of gold plated computer pins, I cut every single pin with cutting nippers to remove the part that is not gold plated, so I ended with 100 grams of pure gold plated pins. You can see every step in pictures below.1.jpgAfter diluted nitric and filtering I got 7.0 grams on yellowish dust, I repeated process with diluted nitric again and got 2.8 grams of grayish dust with visible gold flakes.2.jpg3.jpg4.jpg5.jpg

I know that i shouldn't use nitric method with pins because of tin inside the metal base, but I just made this experiment to see what I will get. I found that incinerating and boiling in HCl will remove the tin so I could use AR process normally. But, I am not sure that it is only and best solution for this. So, the question is:
1. What exactly (most probably) i have in this 2.8 grams of dust?
2. What is the best method to use at this point?
3. What would happened if i put this dust directly in Aqua Regia?

Tzoax,
From what you posted it looks like you removed the solder (where most of the tin would have been found).

Using nitric acid to remove base metals works very well, even for pins, if you remove the solder, and the pins are not made with an alloy of tin like some of the bronze (copper tin alloys) metals.