Please HELP with question about solder contamination

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dan63

I’m very new to this… I’ve spent a month or so reading through the forum and have watched Steve’s videos (all very helpful)… I feel I’m close to being ready to start. However I still have a couple questions:

Lets start with this…I have a large stack of RF communication PCBs form the late 70s early 80s I’ve removed all the components and the solder mask (thanks Steve for the NaOH video). Most of these boards have large “fields” of gold plating many areas 10-16 square inches. However in areas where components were soldered to/through the board there is solder contamination. Before processing in AP should I remove this solder? If so how? (I’d like to remove all the solder just to access the gold under the solder. But I’m more concerned of the effect that the solder contamination will have on the recovery process.)

In areas on the printed circuit board where there are large “fields” of gold plate.. I was thinking to cut these areas into 3/16” wide strips so AP could “attack” the copper under the gold a little faster… as there any risk in doing this??

I’ve searched the Forum for topics on this and did not see anything… If I over looked it I’m sorry… but could someone please direct me in the right direction?
Thanks SO much for your time
Dan

You are using AP to foil whatever gold is on the PCB. It should leave behind the majority of the other metals behind, hopefully, foiling mostly the gold. But even if their are contaminants, they should bear out in your acid wash, and in subsequent washes dependent upon what your refining process is after your recovery process.