Precipitating palladium help needed

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

niels-chemist

I'm a chemist that does some palladium chemistry (in a professional lab). I collected and combined the waste from several (failed) experiments to precipitate the Pd2+ as Pd black. I also need Pd black for some experiments, which I could very effectively and quickly precipitate by dissolving Pd in aqua regia, then adding NaOH to make it alkaline (around pH 9 - 10) and subsequently, formic acid. This works well.

For unknown reasons I haven't succeeded in precipitating Pd(0) from my waste solutions. They contain a bunch of sodium salts (from adding sodium carbonate and hydroxide). I'm certain there is a bunch of palladium in there. When I take small samples from the solution and make it acidic with HCl you get the typicl PdCl2 color that changes to red-brown upon addition of NaoH (from Pd(OH)2). If I add formic acid to this solution and heat it up, nothing precipiates. I also tried adding SnCl2 (the redox reaction should give Sn(IV) and Pd(0), FeCl2 (which should give more stable Fe3+ and Pd(0)). In addition, I also used NaBH4, which definitely reduces Pd2+ to Pd(0).

I then tried to precipitate PdI2 and played around a bit with the pH after addition of excess NaI. Only from a small sample from the solution I managed to get black PdI2 solids precipitated. I do manage to oxide I- to I2 though, probably from some dilute, residual HNO3.

What am I doing wrong here? Shouldn't PdI2 precipitation be almost guaranteed because it's totally insoluble in water? I'm considering to order some DMG and add that as a solution in methanol or ethanol. If it works: does (DMG)2Pd dissolve in concentrated HCl? I think that would be the easiest to make alkaline and add formic acid for Pd(0) precipitation?

Suggestions welcome :)