Problem with cleaning gold powder from cell

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

muddle171965

First I would like to say hi to everyone on the forum! I hope i'm not breaking any rules by introducing myself and at the same time asking for help?! I have been recovering gold for about a year until about three months ago, when I found the forum! Since then I have been reading Hoke and as much on the forum as possible! I have recovered a lot of black powder from using a cell and have been trying to clean my gold powder with Hcl hopefully to dissolve with Hcl/cl and then recover. I have rinsed first with three or four washes with H20 and i'm now on my fifth wash with Hcl. My problem is, the hcl is still looking yellow/green even after all the washing and there seems to be less and less gold powder after each wash! Being a complete newbie to the forum and recycling, I have de-plated over 4kg in weight of various plated items, so I have a lot of money and time invested and i'm worried about losing my values! I would really appreciate some help and I can't express how much I appreciate all the previous help given which has helped me so much already! So here's a big thanks from me :p

Test your washes with SnCl, hopefully you kept them.
If negative, all you are dissolving is more and more base metals. If thet's the case (which i think it is), obviously you will have less and less powder each time as you are removing base metals.

If positive, precipitate the gold seperatly.

btw, You didn't mentioned if you are washing cold or hot.

Hi Sam