Processing gold sulphide ore

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Here is a little tutorial that may help someone out it has worked really well for me but still takes alot of time. Unfortunately I am no scientist and do not know the exact reactions that are going on but know it works pretty well. I have spent alot of time trying to figure out the mysteries of gold sulphide ore and how extremely hard it is to process especially if there is a high sulphide content. Iv'e experimented with aqua regia and found it is really usefull in processing it but is not needed in most cases. Well here it goes if you have a low sulphide content gold mineral break it does and seperate it all till all you see is the yellow shiny stuff then by weight mix a about a 50/50 ratio of it with pure malleable silver. Put your silver and low sulphide content in the bottom of a clay crucible and cover it with about 3 times weight of borax then let it go in your kiln till it hits 2000 degrees and give it some time to react. Pour your mix into a cone mold let it cool then break off the borax on top of your prill. Now you should have a prill that is a brittle gray on upper portion and a little gold/silver button at bottom. Break off the little button from the bottom if you reached high enough temperature it should seperate if not it will be stuck with the gray stuff. Take your gray section of the prill and crunch it up and put it into a clean silica graphite crucible with no flux heat that up to about 2000 degrees and let it sit at 2000 degrees for a bit. Give it a little swish as your pulling it out of kiln then pour into a pre-heated mold. Let it cool and clean the carbon scale off the outside now you should have processible gold/silver mix. If you have high gold content sulphide ore you should see a nice gold looking bar if not it may of been mostly silver. If your processing a