Processing mobile phone circuits

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zolotov

I have got 3kg of mobile phone PCBs (Iphones,Samsungs, Huaweis, etc). (Images attached)
What process should I use to extract copper, silver , gold and palladium out of them ? Are there any steps in a form of a checklist ? Like "do this, then this, then that, and etc. So far what I have found googling about it , it is this process:
https://www.911metallurgist.com/blog/how-to-use-aqua-regia-to-purify-gold
But it doesn't say anything about copper or palladium. This is going to be my first gold extraction, so I am still learning . I am reading Hokes book (on the page 69 currently), but I do not have enough knowledge yet to build a process for such complex extraction. I also have a lot of questions, for example, should I grind this PCBs ? I don't have milling machine nor the money to buy it so I was thinking to cut the PCBs and pass them through the meat grinder. Increasing the size of the lever it will work. Not a standard solution, but it is the only thing I have.

Will appreciate very much your comments and recommendations.

Thanks

Attachments

• mobile_mothers_blackguy.png
    mobile_mothers_blackguy.png
    3.5 MB · Views: 399
  • mobile_mothers_brian.png
    mobile_mothers_brian.png
    4.5 MB · Views: 399
This is a short video of how I remove the components from phone boards.

https://youtu.be/Pn5LjwnmYFg

Zolotov said:
I have got 3kg of mobile phone PCBs (Iphones,Samsungs, Huaweis, etc). (Images attached)
Keep saving up while reading more. I saw a few memory sticks in your picture, try to get a couple of kilos and use them to learn the process. The easiest electronic scrap to refine is gold plated fingers using the copper chloride process. The second would be to use the memory chips to recover bonding wires. The forum is covered with how to process those two.