Red Sulphuric in cell

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golddigger2

Has anyone else come across this issue. I have been using steve's de-plating cell for a couple of years and having good results. I was de-plating a mixed batch of pins yesterday and after i finished i poured off the acid and noticed it had turned a dark raspberry red. when i tried to use it again today it was foaming up quite a lot. Is this due to excess copper in the acid? It is a batch of sulphuric i have been recycling for a while. the acid i have been using is chemical grade 98%. I have been using the copper basket off steve's website in fact i bought the copper mesh off him. I think i got it fairly hot yesterday about 50 degrees c. I just need to know if the acid is still ok to use or do i need to get some more acid and responsibly dispose of the red lot.

thanks

I am having the same issue, and have the same exact question. Any information about this red sulfuric would be greatly appreciated!

I have no clue, rhodium will make a red sulfate solution, I wonder if by some odd chance that could be a possibility here.

Many drain cleaners are dark colored (not pure sulfuric acid), this may come from the process in which the acid was made where some metal like iron may be in the acid, or it could be an added inhibitor, or just plain dyed that color.

Pure sulfuric acid is clear liquid, like oil, with the old name oil of vitriol.
Technical grade H2SO4 impure is often colored.

Sulfuric acid sometimes is dyed dark brown during production to alert people to its hazards.