Refinind gold with NaClO3 and HCl

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Essigsäure

I am a chemist and I made a research for gold refining.

I want use the reaction with NaClO3 (solution saturated) and HCl, but I dont found litterature.

Theoretical the stechiometric reaction is: 2 Au + NaClO3 + 8 HCl ----> 2 HAuCl4 + NaCl + 3 H2O

or: 2 Au + 2 NaClO3 + 9 HCl ----> 2 NaAuCl4 + 3 H2O + 3 HClO

But I am not sure about this reactions.

Somebody can me help with the principal and secondary stechiometrics reactions, and with the operational conditions (Temperarure, Lt/h, ...)
What are the danger of this reaction? This reaction is better than the reaction with Aqua Regia? What are the advantages and the disadvantages?

Thank you

Sounds interesting.

I'm not familiar with use of NaClO3 as a starting reagent in gold refining, although it's sometimes mentioned as an intermediate (under certain conditions) when using HCl/NaClO.

There's a little information on the former and a lot on the latter in this forum, including some current threads. Try a search on NaClO3 and NaClO.

It can be used.

I prefer to use KClO3/HCl for removing stones because AgCl is much more soluble in KCl solutions.

The stoichiometry is almost meaningless in practical application, for it is Cl2 produced by oxidation of the HCl that is doing the work. Cl2 is always used in excess. Obviously, the sweet spot for use is at a temp where the dissolution rate is at its maximum relative to the equilibrium of dissolved Cl2 (too hot and the rate slows at atmospheric pressure). I would suggest 40-60 C at 6-8 M HCl, adding in the chlorate as required to prevent violent foam over and inefficient gas loss.

Chief danger is the chlorine, and Butcher has mentioned potentially dangerous chlorine dioxide (which has never gave me a problem when using this system).