Refining gone wrong! Help please.

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yoyobaby

Hey guys, i came on the forum to ask a question about some refining im doing wrong. I do have some chemistry from college but i suck at it. I have been looking into and wanting to refine some gold for a few years as it is kinda relevant in terms of my degree. Anyway, this is what i did wrong.
I had 4 to 6 grams of unknown kt of gold in hydroclric acid saturated with nitrate salts.
After all gold was desalved i added smb and there was no reaction. Solution was green.
I used lead free solder in hydroclric to test for gold. I did not see any reaction so just messing around i put equal parts of gold bearing and test solution. Like 2 mills of each.
This produced a brown solid.
This is my first time and refine and the msds on the solder is 4 parts tin one part copper. Like i said im not great with chemistry and figure the copper is cementing out the gold?
I mess around some more and divide solution into 2 vessels. I charge one with copper and the other with solder. Waited 24 hours and ended up with black solid. At this point i think that i should allow to set and continue cementing and then give it another go.
And i did. This time however, i used 3 parts hydroclric to one part bleach and (this is after filtering and rinsing black solid) solution is yellow green and super cloudy.
With out doing anything a layer of white solid settles on the bottom. It almost looks neon green.
Any way i start filtering white solid and start messing around as nd again smb does not drop any gold. I thing maybe i need to nuetralize and use baking soda. A lot of baking soda.