Removing capacitors

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MasnyCZ

Hi,
firstly i'd like to say im new to refining and to this forum, so dont tell me to search that or something like that. I've already searched for this and didnt find anything (maybe some videos, but they didnt help me much).
How do you guys remove ceramic capacitors? i tried to remove them with pliers, bit i always (in 99 of 100) crash them.
So my question is - how to remove those capacitors ?
And additional question- what will i get from them? silver and palladium?
thanks in advance and sorry for my english

better search result using the standard grf search on "mlcc", so try this instead of using the link above.
I just couldn't copy the link.

You can use a chisel or a screw driver, place it beside the mlcc and spin. Some are using a heat gun, depopulating the whole board this way. Using the search words mlcc and yield you will find that the yield lies between 0 (zero!) and 5% Pd and I believe >5% silver.

I use a basic wood chisel and more or less scrape them off. I don't have a lot of boards like some do, but I get several done that way.

There are many methods used to depopulate boards. Chisels and heat guns have already been mentioned. You can also place a 9 inch square cake pan on a heating element and partially fill it with fine sand. Once the sand gets hot, put a circuit board into it and in about 10 seconds you can pull it out and whack it onto a cookie sheet. All the surface mount components will usually come off rather quickly and easily.

At least one guy wrote about using a chemical mixture to dissolve the solder. Read, read, and then do some more reading. It's all here on the forum or in Hokes book.

have a bench that will catch things that fly off like a flat top with a back and sides, also on the top you need some stops to put boards against.