silver refining

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

dew129

Hello,
I am new to the process of refining scrap precious metals. i have done quiet a bit of resreach on how to refine silver and every attempt i have made leaves me with a blue crystal at the bottom of my container, why is this and what is it? please help

BRandon

We need just a little more information than that. How much silver? How much chemicals? What process? Did you add 50% water to the acid?

Just a shot in the dark but it sounds like your solution is to concentrated and when it cooled the copper crystallized out. Add some warm water and see if it goes away.

I start by washing off all my scrap silver jewlery, i then place it in my container and add my nitric acid just above the pile of silver in the container. I then put the container on a hot plate, after all of the silver is dissolved i turn the hot plate off to allow the solution to cool, as it cools the blue crystals form. I have had one attempt which this reaction didnt happen, but i was unable to precitate out the silver with copper and the longer the copper strip set in the soultion it began to form the crystal substance

thanks

do they look like this?

https://www.google.com/search?q=copper%20sulphate%20crystals&hl=en&safe=off&biw=1278&bih=683&um=1&ie=UTF-8&tbm=isch&source=og&sa=N&tab=wi&ei=4BoVUZukC4qB0AHvmIDQCA

This is a good reason not to use homemade nitric with silver unless you make great nitric. Like some members do.

Eric

dew129,

First, you are using way to much acid. You only need about 1.2 ml of concentrated nitric per gram of silver, maybe 35 to 40 ml for an ounce of silver. This is why your silver isn't cementing out when you put your copper in. There is still a LOT of free nitric acid left. The silver won't cement out until all the nitric acid has been consumed.

Second, You said: