Speed up stannous with a drop HNO3?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lanfear

Hi guys.

I processed 20 mixed ceramic cpus in AR and only got 3 g. I knew I did not take my time with nitric additions and evaporation. So now 2 months later I am testing for additional gold in the solution.
The stannous test from the gold test solution first turned orange, and then 20 min later purple. So I am at the moment freshing up the stannous with more tin. But it is taking forever even with moderate heat on.
So I was wondering if anyone has experience with putting a drop of nitric in to speed it up? As long as the drop is used up I dont see the harm, but I am no expert..

3g from 20 ceramics is pretty reasonable for SOME ceramics. What yield were you expecting and what were you basing your projections on please?

Also you don't need to have all the tin dissolved for the stannous to be fine. If you introduce Nitric into the solution you'll make a gooey mess. Stick to the chemistry, it's HCl and tin that makes Stannous Chloride. Nitric acid makes that horrid sticky mess that I forget the name of (is it metastannic acid?, feel free to correct me chaps.)

Yes, its metastannic acid. But that should only be a problem with a nitric solution. This is not a nitric solution. It is 30 ml of HCl with a drop of nitric.
I know 3g could be a right for some cpu. I am now looking at my notes, and it was actually 28 ceramics. So you can understand my misgivings.

Testing your unknown with Stannous Chloride is only half of the test you need to perform. Actually, it's the second half of the test.