Stannous Chloride Fail - Turns purple before use?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Aus_Gold

Hi, I'm new to refining and the forum.
I have recently tried to have a go at making some stannous chloride but am having troubles with this basic step.
I know Hoke says to use 1 oz. stannous chloride crystals and 1 oz. or less pure tin metal—mossy, granular, or foil, mixed with HCL and a little H2O, but i have read on this forum and a few other places i can make with just the HCL and tin (either 98% tin solder or tin powder). I live in rural australia so refining chemicals are hard to come by, so i thought id try the latter method.

I have tried this a few times, each time adding about 20 - 30 Mls of HCL. Then i have added solder the first time (it was 60% tin and 40% lead, not good enough i know) but it came out a bright clear purple after being on a very low heat for about 10 mins.

I then ordered an oz of 999 tin off ebay, couldnd't find tin powder.

I did exacly the same thing again, 25mls HCL and added 2 grams 999 tin (was a oz block i cut little bits off) then heated slowly. It had a milky white look for a bit, but then the same purple hue. I thought maybe i over boiled (or maybe a very small presence of gold from running a few acid peroxide mixes in the beaker previously, but unlikely) so i thoroughly washed beaker and tried same method again but with virtually no heat... Same purple...