Stock pot question

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MrCrusher

Hi Everyone,

I am a noob at processing and have a question about my stock pot.

So far I have had to empty it out 4 times. I have changed the material I process from
99% Escrap to 100% gold filed.

I just emptied my stock pot for the 5th time and it has a White coating on the bottom.
( it has always been black before)
It was very light material as I was sucking some out in my siphon.
I have let it settle out good in my 2nd pot and wanted to figure out what it was.

What would be the best way to determine just what this white material is?

Any and all suggestions are welcomed.

Thanx
Mr_Crusher

That white material could be Copper (1) Chloride, lead Chloride, or even possibly silver chloride. Take small samples. In one add some HCl, if it dissolves and turns green it's copper (1) chloride. In the second add boiling water if it dissolves it lead chloride (if it doesn't dissolve it's probably silver chloride. If it's silver chloride you want to keep it wet so that you can process it later to recover the silver. But I could be wrong. Best to let others chime in on their opinions.

Rusty

My guess is you are now processing gold filled so you are using a nitric/distilled water to digest your material to separate the solubles from the insoluble gold. Is this nitric/distilled water what you are cementing in your stock pot with copper? If you are cementing on copper the solids dropping out will be metallic silver, gray not white.

It is my guess you rinsed everything into your stock pot with tap water, hence a source of chlorine, and formed chlorides before the silver had a chance to cement on the copper. It could also be lead chloride, as gold filled has all sorts of surprise metals in it, so you should test it as Rusty suggested.

Well more to the story.