Storing Semi-Processed Gold; Powder vs Shot

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sng

After the parting part of inquartation and parting, I will be left with gold and silver powder. Can this powder be stored without the risk of having it blown away by a wayward sneeze, or should I turn it into shot before storage.

I feel ready to inquart my scrap, dissolve it in nitric acid, and precipitate the silver but do not want to attempt further purification at this moment. I have never worked with powdered metal before and while I doubt the powder will be as susceptible to the wind as talc, my gut tells me that storing valuable items in the form of dust is a rather foolish thing to do.

You must inquart properly. I used to have gold dust when I ran my inquarted material. I learned from Harold that molten inquart MUST be stirred with a graphite or quartz rod. What a difference!
Since then, I don't have gold dust after nitric run, but firm gold clumbs. When run thru AR, an orange colored
solution, instead of a green one.

Phil

To be accurate after inquarting your gold scrap and dissolving your base metals and silver in nitric you will have contaminated gold powder and copper, silver and other base metal nitrate. To remove your silver you need to cement it out with copper which will leave you with silver and trace amounts of gold, copper and any PGMs in the solution. The silver after rinsing to remove as much copper nitrate as possible can be dried and re used to inquart your next batch. The gold powder is really easy to refine from the inquartation, again rinse to remove as much nitrate as possible and dissolve with either AR or Chlorox been careful not to add too much nitric or bleach as this will cause problems when your ready to precipitate your gold.