Suggestions On Completely Removing Solder

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lifey222

Hi i am completely new to this process of gold recovery And full aware i still have a Long way to go before i even consider Buying the equipment to chemically recover gold

my first question is about removing solder for Nitric acid removal of plating as i am aware it can contaminate as such your gold in the stages before taking it to a powder and was wondering what peoples methods of removing the solder from pins and pcb and so on in terms of pcb i know cutting the solder of would be the quickest way but feel i may end up losing gold this way.

my second question is about gold pin and how to recover the plating from them as while researching pcb recovery i saw someone add a processor (with pins and gold areas exposed) in with ram fingers and other pcb and i am aware that the nitric acid will remove the copper and other metals from under the ram fingers but thought you would have to a different method for removing from pins as you want to remove the plating from a different base metal.

hope i explain that clearly and will more that likely have lots more question in the future as so far i have learned through videos but i have the feeling that a lot of the videos i have been watching are with holding information and methods in order to encourage you to buy their books or online courses

Hi, I am going to be honest with you and give you the advice I was given, you have to crawl before you can run, in any interests before any practise are under taken you have to gain a basic knowledge.

You must do your homework has I did and read this forum wealth of knowledge and the hoke book, this book is obtainable through this forum (free) to download and educate yourself.