Sulfamic acid

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kjavanb123

All,

This is my first time encountering this, I have an AR solution whic I added solid sulfamic acid no fizzing, but when I add SMB it shows the brown fumes?

Please give more details regarding the material, type of scrap, what did you do, how much chemicals you added,etc. Then only anyone can help you here.

If you have noxxing occurring you haven't got rid of all the nitric, the sulphamic I believe converts the free nitric to sulphuric which is good as it will precipitate any lead from your solution but it will need filtering before precipitating.

I tried AR which I already done few times successfully on CPUs removed from telecomm boards, first I boiled the cermaic CPUs in hydrochloric acid, after most of the pins were dissolved I added nitric acid in 25 ml incriments, then I would add another 25 ml to a solution which has 3 lbs of cermaic CPUs, I stopped nitric addition until any visible gold was dissolved no more reaction when adding nitric, so I pour it off, add cold water to perticipate silver chloride filter, then dilute the solution to twice the volume, dropped a spoon of SMB and got this

image.jpg

So I went ahead and added a teaspoon of sulfmaic acid, and no reaction or fizzing occured, and now stannus test shows negative!!! I mean this is really annoying.

This is CPUs batch after AR leach was completed.
image.jpg

Any help is much apperciated.

Regards,
Kevin

Hey Kevin.
2009 you've been a member and this is your description of what you are doing?.

First, I would smash up the CPUs alittle better. Some gold wont get an acid bath unless you let sit in active acid for a long time, like a week, or alot of aggitation.

You soaked in HCL and then added Nitric? Hopefully you filtered off the HCL soak solution before adding fresh HCL + nitric.