Testing A/P solution with stannous

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

golddigger2

Hi I'm just wondering if there is any problems testing A/P for the presence of dissolved gold with stannous chloride? I have been using the A/P process for about 2 years and have always tested spent solutions with stannous. I have never had a positive test for gold and have never seen black precipitated gold powder either. I must assume therefore that I am using the process correctly. I just want to know if there are any pitfalls to testing this particular solution with stannous.

Thanks

good question. I have been wondering about that, as well, as some early material had solder traces.
I look forward to responses on this topic.

With AP you must make sure the solution is saturated with copper to be sure no gold is present. The color of a saturated AP solution is dark chocolate brown.

As for testing Acid Peroxide with stannous chloride, I find that a positive result will take a few minutes to develop before the purple/black color appears. When the stannous is initially added the solution/swab will lose some of it's color, then the positive result will develop shortly thereafter. Testing your stannous chloride against a standard solution (known positive) mixed with a little brown AP solution will give you some practice recognizing this result.

Remember your stannous can go bad so be sure you always have a standard solution on hand to confirm your stannous is up to par for testing.

Steve

Thanks steve excellent advice as always. I have another question about cleaning the copper powder once it is dropped from the A/P I know it's on the forum somewhere as I have read your post before. But I have tried the search on goldrecovery .us and the search function on the forum would someone please be so kind as to post the link?