trying to build to overcome the plastic/metal problem

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ericrm

Photo 163.jpgin the next few month i want to try to deal with those little monster and im thinking about some kind of hammer mill, since i cannot afford one professionnaly made i will try to do one myself... i know my drawing are not exactly the best but i think you will figure ...
could this work? what kind of speed of hp im i seeking? for the speed im thinking to reduce the motor speed(i guess aroud 1750rpm) by 2 to get a little more force out of it.how much space (if i should have some) should i let between the hammer and the block between the hammer if i want an end product of around 1/16? i am not an engineer so every advice are welcome... i dont have put an exit because im not sure where to put it... Photo 164.jpg

Hi !
I had the thought about liquid nitrogen and a devise like a punch-press that could slam the material while frozen.
Would it be feasible to load a devise like yours blast inside with the nitrogen then give it a fast spin ?
Per-haps one could process alot of material very quickly. Low power use may offset the N2 cost?
artart47

ericrm without prejudice scrap your design and go back to the drawing board.

The 7.5 HP hammer mill with a 4 inch intake, by over feeding could almost stall the motor were you had to wait for it to regain RPM's. i always feared the motor would one day go up in smoke.

The hammers are hinged at the rotating shaft, similar to this primitive hammer mill shown below.

rusty

Attachments

• hammer.PNG
    hammer.PNG
    335.3 KB
artart47 said:
Hi !
I had the thought about liquid nitrogen and a devise like a punch-press that could slam the material while frozen.
Would it be feasible to load a devise like yours blast inside with the nitrogen then give it a fast spin ?