Using mercury for Gold recovery

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I need to know, is there a process that you have to do to 'activate' the mercury to use it? I have mercury and what is flake gold, and it is not absorbing as I am told. I would look on the site, but I am new to everything but the safety on it. Any takes? thanks!

jojothebarbarian said:
I would look on the site, but I am new to everything but the safety on it. Any takes? thanks!

would love to help, but I really need to take my dog for a walk :twisted:

jojothebarbarian said:
I need to know, is there a process that you have to do to 'activate' the mercury to use it?

This ought to be intresting..... I'm gonna need a bag of popcorn. :lol: :lol:

Pretty light on the information of what you are trying to do! Why would you want to mix (poisonous)mercury with your gold?

Okay, what is the process of activating mercury to recover gold?

i'm trying to recover the gold that i have just 'floating around', such as flake 24k and some from creeks and such

What are "these things"? Where did they come from?
Where did your mercury come from? How dirty is it and what is the contaminate?
How processed are your placer concentrates? What did you use to recover what you have?

jojothebarbarian said:
ummm i have these things, and flake gold...could someone please just tell me the process?

there is a good video about a small Australian gold mining operation on Youtube. they use Amalgam (mercury). they show almost everything in the video, crushing the rocks, mixing the powdered rock with the mercury, evaporating & distilling the mercury, recovering the gold, melting & casting the gold.

jojo,

its not that the members are trying to give you the run around, its just the fact that use of mercury in gold recovery is regulated and in many places illegal.