Using only HCl to recover gold from ore?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

jdeluisa

Can someone comment on this please? This guy claims to be recovering gold from ore by using only HCl. I am by no means an expert but this seems off? Thank you

https://vimeo.com/129443396

https://vimeo.com/129450335

The guy's a rank beginner that probably hadn't been doing this for more than a week. The presence of gold in the videos was solely determined by color and this proves absolutely nothing - zero - zilch - nada. There are tons of non-gold materials that are yellow in HCl solutions - iron is probably the most common and that's probably what it is.

Anyone that's been reading this forum for a week knows that solution color only is often meaningless and that the HCl solution must be tested with stannous chloride to really see if there is any gold in there. It's a basic test that everybody here must know. You never know until you test it. If a drop of solution mixed with a drop of stannous chloride turns purple or black, there's gold in it. If it doesn't turn purple or black, there's no gold. Very simple, very fast, sensitive, and accurate.

To learn everything about it, where to get it and how to make it up, search the forum for stannous chloride. I bought enough (1/4 pound) on eBay for $10 to last a lifetime, if I go to the trouble to make it up right (from Hoke). I think the same guy's still selling it on eBay but the price went up a couple of dollars.

You can also make the stannous chloride test solution by reacting 95% tin solder with HCl, but I prefer using the white stannous chloride crystals like on eBay.

Download the Hoke book (free) and find the best instructions for making and using stannous chloride starting on page 92.

Would someone please give the man the link for the best Hoke download.