What did I do wrong?

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

matafy

I've been curious for a very long time now and this is my first time ever trying this. I'm not much into the gold business, but I have always been wanting to experiment with this process...

The method I used was as follows:
1) 5 Pentium processors (in coffee pot)
2) Muriatic Acid 14% / Swinning pool Chorine 10%
Poured HCL enough to cover 1/8 inch over the top
Slowly poured about 1/4 cup of CL
waited for about 15 min to dissolve
3) filtered solution with 3 coffee filters
the solution was bright yellow
4) heated to a low simmer for an hour to kill any
chlorine left over
5) Let it sit for 24 hours just in case
6) Stirred slowly and poured SMB (Stump-Out)
it turned the solution dark brown, but no
precipitation...

7) Need help with what I did wrong.

1. Was the coffee pot clean?

2. You're HCl is a diluted solution, you might want to warm it until it evaporates some of the liquid so that you have a more concentrated HCl. But do NOT boil it, just hot enough to start the evolution of steam. I use poor man's AR to process CPU's, I have not tried the HCl / Cl method on CPU's. I am comfortable using AR to process CPU's and have stuck with it since. But it takes longer than 15 minutes for a HCl / Cl solution to dissolve gold. Did you test with Stannous Chloride for gold content? You should be proving gold content before you filter.

3. LaserSteve has a video and instructions on what you are attempting, you might want to watch them. I believe you should add water, if you evaporated off some, you might not have enough to react properly with the stump out.

4. I believe you should add water, if you evaporated off some, you might not have enough to react properly with the stump out. Did you decant into ice? Stump out will not work good in hot solution.