What to do with Anode Basket Slimes

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

ModernAlchemy

Supporting Member
I'm new to the Silver Cell and first off would like to thank all of you for your support in answering questions. This forum has been a jewel of info. Now back to the question. What do I do with the Slimes in my anode basket? Neutralize and discard properly or can they be used for something? Please advise...

As with other cell’s, any pm’s or pgm’s will be left in the slimes. Removing some of those and collecting these for further refining can add extra money to the process. The method used to further refine the slimes will be based off what is in them. If you’re running a smaller cell, you may be better off to hold them until you have a reasonably large amount.

The industry average for silver from sterling silver runs about 1/3 of an ounce per 1000 ounces refined. Often some sterling was gold
electroplated and in time the Gold migrated into the Silver and looked like it was never plated. That is where the Gold comes from. Also some Sterling was flash electroplated with Palladium, to inhibit tarnishing, back when Palladium was cheaper. It is not as consistent as Gold in the slimes but it can accumulate in the solution as well. A test with Dimethylglyoxime will detect any Palladium in the solution. Usually the most abundant metal in the slimes from a silver cell is Silver.

Suppose someone was running a silver cell and accumulated a lot of filters of anode slimes, could you put them all in a crucible and add some borax and salt peter and smelt it? If the main slime is silver could you just make shot with the smelt and run it back through?

You would need to test if and how much silver it is or you could clog your filter in vain if you just turn it to metal.