Why such small batches???

Gold Refining Forum

Help Support Gold Refining Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

gpoon

Guys total newbie here and ready to lift some gold leaf of some ram fingers. I've read a lot of posts, tutorials, and seen a ton of videos but it seems everybody processes gold in small batches 100 fingers, a pound of fingers etc. Why is this? wouldn't it be more economical to smash it out in one go?
I want to get an AP stockpot going for my 3 kg of fingers is there a reason not to bang this out in on go?

And while i got your attention, I can't get nitric acid, so ima go the bleach method.
So in a nutshell:
- 3:1 Hydrochloric Acid(approx 30%): Hydrogen peroxide (3-5%) just covering the fingers leave for 2 days (agitate in between)
- Filter through coffee filter collect the gold and rinse with water and allow to dry. (If not keeping AP neutralise with baking soda and dispose of responsibly)
- In GLASS jar/ beaker/ anything GLASS, place gold leaf add enough Hydrocholric acid to cover gold leaf and a bit more. I have read that you should add water but i also read its not necessary cause bleach has a lot of water. Slowly add bleach a bit at a time until gold is dissolved (avoiding inhaling gases with a respirator or by staying the hell away from it).
- Filter through coffee filter and keep the liquid gold.
- Add as many grams of SMB as you expect gold, mix and leave overnight to drop.
- Filter and melt the brown goodness.
- Brag about having a gold nugget!

Would be great to get corrections or extra tips.
Many thanks.

gpoon said:
Guys total newbie here and ready to lift some gold leaf of some ram fingers. I've read a lot of posts, tutorials, and seen a ton of videos but it seems everybody processes gold in small batches 100 fingers, a pound of fingers etc. Why is this? wouldn't it be more economical to smash it out in one go?